Expanded program on fourth stage

19.02.2014 18:17

In 2014 we will expand the Camel Stage program to 34 bands, seven of them being part of the RIOT OF THE UNDERGROUND. The stage will be organized in a way that each band will no more play several short sets, but at least 30 minutes. We will be booking bands who have already made a name for themselves, as well as ones who have been making noise in the underground.

It's not relevant if a band has already released two, three records on a label or has only got a demo. The musical spectrum will be wide, ranging from punk'n'roll, heavy metal and death metal all the way to doom or even grindcore, so there is something for everyone.

In return, the New Blood Award will no longer exist, as unsigned bands will now get a regular slot at SUMMER BREEZE due to the Camel Stage's expanded program. The action will start on Wednesday with eight bands playing the Riot Of The Underground.

What this means for SUMMER BREEZE 2014 is you will get the chance to see over 110 bands on four stages!

Winners of the New Blood Award 2013 are Stormborn!

14.08.2013 19:34

And the winners of the New Blood Award 2013 are Stormborn. Congratulations! They will kick off the open air portion of the festival tomorrow on the Pain Stage.

NEW BLOOD AWARD 2013 – Voting has begun!

21.06.2013 07:46

After receiving over 3.000 promo packages from all over the world – sincere thanks to all participating bands – and endless hours pre-selecting, we finally have the TOP 20 bands for the NEW BLOOD AWARD 2013. 

As of now you can find the 20 bands that made it into the online voting on http://www.new-blood-award.de. From this point on, it is you who decide which five lucky groups we will see in August in beautiful Dinkelsbühl!

These are the rules for the voting process:
- each one of the 20 bands must be rated
- the bands will be rated on a scale from 1 (crap) to 5 (top)
- only registered Community members may vote on www.summer-breeze.de 
- voting ends on: 30th of June
- between all valid votes we will give away 5 pairs of 3-day tickets for SUMMER BREEZE Open Air 2013

The 5 most voted bands will open the festival proceedings on the tent stage on Wednesday, August 14th, 2013, competing for the NEW BLOOD AWARD, which will be presented for the forth year running. In addition, just like the last few years, the winning band will get the chance to kick off the open air portion of the festival on one of the main stages on Thursday, August 15th, 2013. 

So get voting now! The underground is more alive than ever! And if your band didn't make it this year, don't worry, there will be a NEW BLOOD AWARD 2014 for sure!

NEW BLOOD AWARD 2013: Century Media and EMP on board

05.03.2013 09:45

You are already familiar with the NEW BLOOD AWARD? Of course! You also know that, if you win, you get to open one of the most renowned metal festivals in Europe, SUMMER BREEZE? Definitely!

But that's not enough! That itchy 7th year has got something very special in store for you, which will make the NEW BLOOD AWARD an absolute must for all young, up-and-coming bands.

In cooperation with CENTURY MEDIA RECORDSEMP, METAL.DE and SUMMER BREEZE you will get a once-in-a-lifetime chance to earn a record deal with CENTURY MEDIA RECORDS. But that's not all of it! EMP will put a merch deal for you and your band on top.

Yet that's still not enough, because the amazing DARK TRANQUILLITY will be part of the 2013 jury and, in case you win, accompany you further on.

Here it is again, so it sinks in. Your band:

...will open the SUMMER BREEZE Festival 2013!
...will get a record deal with CENTURY MEDIA RECORDS!
...will get a merchandise deal incl. 100 shirts with EMP!
...will get a spot for their album/merch in the EMP shop/catalogue!
...will get extensive coverage on METAL.DE
...will get professional guidance and support by all NEW BLOOD AWARD partners!

Any questions? We hope so! You want to know where to address your applications? Then go visit one of our websites to get all the information about terms and conditions. Don't forget, the application deadline is March 31st, 2013! 

You can find all info about the band contest here:

NEW BLOOD AWARD 2013

11.01.2013 13:40

The well-established NEW BLOOD AWARD can look back on six sucessful years and is going into that damned seventh year in 2012. The winners from previous years already show what kinds of different talents there are in the scene, to which SUMMER BREEZE offers a promotional platform. This mix is what defines a contest which gives you the chance to perform alongside the big names of the scene, side by side. Limited to German-speaking countries in its first few years, the NEW BLOOD AWARD now is and will stay open to international bands, so we're looking forward to hearing contenders from near and far. The success of last year's edition confirmed the fact that opening the contest to bands from other countries would catapult the contest to the top. As of now, we welcome applications from all over the world, ringing in the seventh round.

The NEW BLOOD AWARD is one of the most important contests for young, up-and-coming bands in the metal genre, organized and decided in close collaboration with METAL.DE. In 2013 it will even be upgraded as, for the first time, the winners of the NEW BLOOD AWARD will get a one-album recording deal with the prestigious Century Media Records! 
Our long-time partners from EMP will support the award in the media, and they will also provide a very special treat for the winners. It's a surprise!

The winners from previous years – STITCH, FUCK YOUR SHADOW FROM BEHIND, SECOND RELATION, BLEEDING RED, STEVE FROM ENGLAND and the excentric OBSCURE SPHINX – have proven that the music of tomorrow breeds in the underground and that it's time to provide international bands with a promotional platform through the NEW BLOOD AWARD. 
This high level is also confirmed by the numerous label signings among the runners-up such as LEVIATHAN, DAVIDIAN, DREAMSHADE, KADAVRIK and BLOODWORK, to name but a few.

As tradition dictates, the winners will open the SUMMER BREEZE festival on Thursday on one of the open-air stages, getting the chance to present their material to an expert audience at one of Germany's biggest metal festivals. Don't miss this chance to present your music to the SUMMER BREEZE crowd!

The winning band will also be handed the specially-made NEW BLOOD AWARD trophy on one of the open-air stages. 

About the rules: 
It is a prerquisite that your band is unsigned and doesn't currently have a prospective recording deal. Send your demos and self-produced CDs to the following address no later than March 31st, 2013:

New Blood Award 
Postfach 500848 
70338 Stuttgart 
Germany

Thanks in advance for your submissions!

The Summer Breeze and metal.de teams

Programm-Ausbau der vierten Bühne

19.02.2014 18:14

Im Jahr 2014 werden wir das Programm für die Camel Stage auf 34 Bands erweitern, davon werden sieben beim RIOT OF THE UNDERGROUND auftreten. Der Ablauf wird so umgestellt, dass jede dieser Bands nicht wie bislang mehrere kurze Auftritte absolviert, sondern jeder Combo mindestens 30 Minuten Spielzeit zur Verfügung steht. Es werden Truppen verpflichtet, die sich bereits einen Namen machen oder im Underground Staub aufwirbeln konnten.

Dabei ist es nicht relevant, ob eine Band bereits zwei, drei Platten über ein Label veröffentlicht oder erst eine Demoproduktion vorgelegt hat. Das musikalische Spektrum wird breit gefächert sein und von Punk ’n’ Roll über Heavy und Death Metal bis hin zu Doom oder gar Grindcore reichen, so dass für jeden Besucher etwas dabei ist.

Im Umkehrschluss fällt der New Blood Award weg, da Bands ohne Vertrag mit dem Ausbau des Programms der Camel Bühne nun regulär die Chance bekommen, beim SUMMER BREEZE Open Air einen Slot zu ergattern. Starten wird das Programm am Mittwoch mit den acht Bands des Riot Of The Underground.

Dies bedeutet für das SUMMER BREEZE Open Air 2014: Ihr habt die Chance über 110 Bands auf vier Bühnen zu sehen!

Gewinner des New Blood Award 2013 sind Stormborn!

14.08.2013 19:19

Und die Gewinner des New Blood Award 2013 sind Stormborn. Herzlichen Glückwunsch! Sie werden morgen den Open Air-Teil des Festivals auf der Pain Stage eröffnen.

NEW BLOOD AWARD 2013 – Voting eröffnet!

21.06.2013 07:46

Nach über 3.000 Einsendungen aus aller Herren Länder – ein ganz herzliches Dankeschön an dieser Stelle allen teilnehmenden Bands – und nicht enden wollenden Stunden der Vorauswahl stehen sie endlich fest: die TOP 20 des NEW BLOOD AWARD 2013. 

Auf http://www.new-blood-award.de findet ihr ab sofort die 20 Formationen, die es in das Online-Voting geschafft haben. Ab jetzt hängt es einzig und allein an euch, welche fünf glücklichen Bands wir im August im schönen Dinkelsbühl wieder sehen werden!

Hier die Regeln zur Teilnahme:
- jede der 20 Bands muss bewertet werden
- bewertet wird auf einer Punkteskala von 1 (mies) bis 5 (super)
- voten dürfen nur registrierte Mitglieder der Community auf www.summer-breeze.de
- Ende des Votings: 30.06.
- unter allen korrekt abgegebenen Votes verlosen wir  5 x zwei 3-Tages-Tickets für das SUMMER BREEZE Open Air 2013

Die aus diesem Voting hervorgehenden Top 5 werden am Mittwoch, den 14.08.2013 nachmittags das bunte Treiben auf der Zeltbühne eröffnen und um den in diesem Jahr zum vierten Mal verliehenen NEW BLOOD AWARD wetteifern. Zusätzlich darf der Gewinner, wie schon in den letzten Jahren, den Open Air-Teil des Festivals am Donnerstag, den 15.08.2013, auf einer der beiden Hauptbühnen eröffnen. 

Also, nichts wie rein ins Voting! Der Underground ist lebendiger denn je! Und falls eure Band es dieses Jahr nicht geschafft haben sollte, der NEW BLOOD AWARD 2014 kommt mit Sicherheit!

NEW BLOOD AWARD 2013: Century Media und EMP mit im Boot!

05.03.2013 09:15

Den NEW BLOOD AWARD kennt ihr schon? Aber sicher! Dass ihr im Siegesfall mit dem SUMMER BREEZE eines der renommiertesten Festivals eröffnet wisst ihr auch? Ganz bestimmt!

Damit aber nicht genug! Das verflixte  7. Jahr hält etwas ganz Besonderes für euch bereit und macht den NEW BLOOD AWARD zu einem absoluten Muss für alle jungen und aufstrebenden Bands.

In Kooperation mit CENTURY MEDIA RECORDSEMPMETAL.DE und dem SUMMER BREEZE habt ihr die einmalige Chance einen Plattendeal bei CENTURY MEDIA RECORDS zu ergattern. Damit aber nicht genug! EMP legt zudem einem Merchdeal für dich und deine Band obendrauf.

Das war es aber noch immer nicht ganz, denn die großen DARK TRANQUILLITY werden 2013 ebenfalls Teil der Jury sein und begleiten euch auch im Siegesfalle weiter.

Hier noch mal zum Mitschreiben.

Deine Band:

...eröffnet das SUMMER BREEZE Festival 2013!
...erhält einen Plattenvertrag bei CENTURY MEDIA RECORDS!
...erhält einen Merchandise Deal inkl. 100 Shirts bei EMP!
...erhält mit Scheibe und Merch einen Platz im Shop/Katalog von EMP!
...erhält eine ausführliche Berichterstattung bei METAL.DE
...erhält eine professionelle Begleitung und Unterstützung durch alle NEW BLOOD AWARD Partner!

Noch Fragen? Das hoffen wir doch! Ihr wollt wissen wohin mit euren Bewerbungen? Dann nichts wie ab auf eine unserer Seiten und holt euch die weiteren Informationen zu den Bewerbungsmodalitäten. Und nicht vergessen, der Bewerbungsschluss ist bereits der 31.03.2013!

Alle Infos zum Band-Contest findet ihr hier:

NEW BLOOD AWARD 2013

11.01.2013 13:39

Der etablierte NEW BLOOD AWARD blickt auf mittlerweile sechs erfolgreiche Jahre zurück und startet 2013 in das verflixte siebte Jahr. Die Gewinner der letzten Jahre zeigen, welch unterschiedliche Talente sich in der Szene tummeln und auf dem SUMMER BREEZE eine Plattform finden. Diese Mischung steht für einen außergewöhnlichen Contest, der Euch die Chance bietet, Seite an Seite mit den ganz großen Bands der Szene auf euch aufmerksam zu machen. In den ersten Jahren begrenzt auf den deutschsprachigen Raum, bleibt der NEW BLOOD AWARD international und rüstet sich erneut für die Konkurrenz aus nah und fern. Die letzten Jahre geben uns Recht, dass die Öffnung über die Landesgrenzen hinaus, den Contest endgültig an die Spitze katapultiert hat. Ab sofort freuen wir uns wieder auf Bewerbungen aus aller Welt und schlagen den Gong für die siebte Runde. 

Der NEW BLOOD AWARD ist einer der wichtigsten Preise für junge, aufstrebende Bands im Metalgenre, welcher in enger Kooperation mit METAL.DE organisiert und vergeben wird. 2013 wird er sogar noch aufgewertet, denn erstmals winkt dem Gewinner des NEW BLOOD AWARD ein Plattendeal über ein Album beim renommierten Label Century Media Records!
Unsere langjährigen Partner von EMP werden den Award nicht nur medial begleiten; sie haben obendrein ebenfalls ein Schmankerl für die Gewinner. Lasst euch überraschen.

Die Gewinner der letzten Jahre - STITCH, FUCK YOUR SHADOW FROM BEHIND, SECOND RELATION, BLEEDING RED, STEVE FROM ENGLAND und die aparten OBSCURE SPHINX - haben gezeigt, dass im Underground die Musik von morgen entsteht und es an der Zeit ist, internationalen Bands mit dem NEW BLOOD AWARD die längst fällige Plattform zu bieten. 
Unterstrichen wird das hohe Niveau ebenfalls durch eine Vielzahl von Labelveröffentlichungen der Bands, die sich auf den folgenden Plätzen eingereiht haben, u.a. von LEVIATHAN, DAVIDIAN, DREAMSHADE, KADAVRIK und BLOODWORK, um nur einige wenige zu nennen.

Der Gewinner wird in alter Tradition das SUMMER BREEZE donnerstags auf einer der Open Air-Bühnen eröffnen und hat die Möglichkeit, sein Material einem fachkundigen Publikum auf einem der größten deutschen Festivals zu präsentieren. Lasst Euch diese Chance nicht entgehen und präsentiert Eure Musik dem SUMMER BREEZE Publikum!

Die Gewinner-Band wird außerdem auf einer der Open Air-Bühnen den eigens gestalteten NEW BLOOD AWARD überreicht bekommen. 

Zu den Modalitäten: 
Voraussetzung ist, dass Ihr keinen Plattenvertrag unterschrieben oder in Aussicht habt. Schickt Eure Demos und Eigenproduktionen bis zum 31.03.2013 an:

New Blood Award 
Postfach 500848 
70338 Stuttgart 
Germany

Schon jetzt vielen Dank für Eure Einsendungen! 

Euer Summer Breeze und metal.de Team